Understanding Texas Workers’ Compensation Coverage

Texas is the second largest state in the US and also full of many great opportunities. Many already established businesses and start-up companies call this state home, which means someone looking for employment opportunities will most likely find work here. If you are one of them, you will need to familiarize yourself with the laws governing workers’ compensation in this state. So read on to learn more.

Understanding Texas Workers Compensation Coverage

The first thing you need to understand is even though most states require employers to carry workers compensation coverage, in Texas, this is not a requirement. But even though the state’s laws don’t require you to have this coverage, it is still a good idea to have it. On top of helping workers return to work much faster after sustaining work-related injuries or illnesses, it can also help you as the employer pay for legal fees if you are sued by an injured or ill employee. If you don’t have this coverage, you’ll be the one to cater for these costs, something that might put your business in avoidable financial losses.

Workers’ compensation coverage in Texas can protect employers against claims of co-worker negligence, contributory negligence, assumption of risk, and “last clear chance”. Without this coverage, you as the business owner who has been sued in a personal injury case would be responsible for all the costs related to the injury or sickness sustained, even if it was the employee’s fault.

Coverages for Workers’ Comp Insurance in Texas

Employers and employees in Texas can enjoy many types of benefits if they are covered by workers’ compensation insurance. These benefits include:

• Medical benefits — to cater for the treatment of work-related injuries or illnesses
• Income benefits — to compensate the injured or sick employee for lost wages due to missing work
• Death benefits — which will be paid to the dependents of an employee who lost his or her life due to a work-related illness or accident
• Legal benefits — to cater for costs arising from a personal injuries lawsuit

Workers’ compensation laws in Texas require employees to give notice of their work-related injuries or illnesses to their employers within 30 days from the date of the accident or medical diagnosis of the illness. Employees are also required to file formal paperwork for the workers’ compensation claim within a window of 365 days (one year) from the date of the accident or medical diagnosis, or else they’ll lose their right to compensation. On the other hand, employers are required to notify their insurer within eight days after receiving a report of work-related injury or illness.

Is Workers’ Compensation Required in Texas?

As mentioned earlier, the laws in Texas do not require an employer to have workers’ compensation insurance. But running your business without it can put you and your organization at serious risk. This is because, without this coverage, your business will liable for any costs that will arise from a personal injury lawsuit.

To get workers’ compensation coverage in Texas, simply visit any insurance carrier licensed to provide this type of insurance cover. Also check out https://qcare.org/faq/ for more info.